EU Lifts Travel Ban in Southern Africa

0 23,885

The European Union lifts its travel ban on seven countries in southern Africa. This was supposed to slow down the advance of the contagious omicron variant but has now become obsolete. This makes it easier for the Dutch to travel to and from South Africa, among other places.


At the end of November, when Omicron emerged, the member states of the European Union agreed to temporarily ban flights from South Africa, Namibia, Mozambique, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Lesotho and Swaziland. The affected countries were outraged by the travel restrictions and demanded that they be lifted from the outset.

The EU countries are now putting the ’emergency stop’ out of action again, President France reports. The omicron variant has penetrated all corners of Europe and has the upper hand. The travel rules that the EU uses for those arriving from abroad also apply to these countries. Before departure, travellers must undergo a corona test.

The entry ban was never completely conclusive. An exception was made for necessary travel and for certain professions. Moreover, some EU member states have already relaxed their rules in recent weeks.

Leave A Reply